National Institute of Plant Genome Research
Digital India   Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav     
    Dr. Subhra Chakraborty
    National Institute of Plant Genome Research
    Phone: 011-26742267, 26735169
    Fax: 011-26741759

Dr. Subhra Chakraborty, Director, National Institute of Plant Genome Research obtained her Ph.D in Plant Molecular Biology from Jawaharlal Nehru University in 1997. After a brief career as Research Scientist at the Centre for Plant Molecular Biology, Jawaharlal Nehru University, she joined National Institute for Plant Genome Research in 1998 as one of the founding faculty and has been continuously ascending the ranks ever since. She worked as Visiting Scientist at the Yale University, USA (2007-2008). Trained as a molecular biologist and biotechnologist, she got interested in protein science and was instrumental in initiating and establishing Plant Proteomics and Translational Genomics research in India. The major research interest of her laboratory is focused in the area of Nutritional Genomics, Plant Immunity, Multi-host resistance, Proteomics and Plant Biotechnology. The targeted research in the field has direct implications in plant and human health and vital to food and nutritional security.

Dr. Chakraborty is actively associated with national and international proteomics societies. Currently, she is serving as President, Proteomics Society, India (PSI); Council Member, Human Proteome Organization (HUPO); Co-chair of Food & Nutrition Initiative and HPP-SAB of HUPO; Council Member & Country Representative, Asia Oceania Agricultural Proteomics Organization (AOAPO). She is also serving as member of research bodies and national committees concerning education, academic activities, research funding and policy planning in India. She has been given JC Bose National Fellowship Award, Tata Innovation Fellowship Award, National Young Women Bio-scientist Award, NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award in Biological Sciences, Technology Development Award, Young Women Bio-scientist of Promise Award, An Inspiring Women Engineer/Scientist, Professor Hiralal Chakraborty Award of ISCA, Platinum Jubilee Lecture Award of ISCA, Overseas Associateship Award, Young Scientist Award of IUBMB, Professor Hiralal Chakraborty Gold Medal from National Botanical Society & University of Calcutta. She is an elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India; the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru; the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, India.